Model#: DEWNDW735X
Condition:
New

What are the different product conditions?

New
Brand new items;Full manufacturer warranty available
Reconditioned
Manufacturer inspected, repaired and tested items; CPO 60 day money back guarantee
Open Box
New or Recon items with possible minor cosmetic damage; CPO 60 day money back guarantee
Certified
Returned items inspected, repaired and tested by CPO technicians; CPO 60 day money back guarantee

Dewalt DW735X 13 in. Two-Speed Thickness Planer with Support Tables and Extra Knives

  • Dewalt DW735X 13 in. Two-Speed Thickness Planer with Support Tables and Extra Knives
List:
$719.99
Sale Price:
$649.00
You Save
10%
Free Shipping
(continental U.S.)
+
Qty:
-
+
In Stock
Ships Tomorrow!

Details

The DeWalt 13 in. Two-Speed Thickness Planer has a powerful 2,000 RPM motor that handles larger cuts in wider materials with ease. The three knife cutter-head delivers 30 percent longer knife life and makes knife changes faster and easier. The two speed gear box allows the user to change feed speed to optimize cuts at 179 CPI.
Features:
  • Powerful 15 amp, 20,000 RPM motor (10,000 RPM cutterhead speed) handles larger cuts in wider materials with ease
  • Three knife cutter-head delivers 30% longer knife life and makes knife change faster and easier
  • Two-speed gear box allows users to change feed speed to optimizing cuts per inch at 96 or 179 CPI
  • 19-3/4 in. cast-aluminum base is 2X more rigid than a standard 10 in. base and folding tables
  • Fan-assisted chip ejection vacuums chips off at the cutter head and exhausts them out of the machine
  • Automatic carriage lock reduces the movement that causes snipe without the need for manual engagement by the user
  • Material removal gauge and extra-large thickness scale deliver accurate cuts with every pass
  • Extra-large turret depth stop allows users to return to most frequently used thicknesses with ease
Includes:
  • 13 in. Two-Speed Thickness Planer - DW735X
  • Dust Hose Adapter
  • Dust Ejection Chute
  • Extra Set of Knives
  • Outfeed Table
Downloads:

Specifications

Weight: 92 lbs.
AC Voltage: 120V
Amperage: 15
Cutterhead Speed (RPM): 10000
Feed Rate - Planing (FPM): 26
Max. Material Thickness: 6 in.
Max. Planing Depth: 1/8 in.
Max. Planing Width: 13 in.
No. of Knives: 3
Operating Speed (CPM): 20000
PreWired Voltage: 120V

Recommendations

Reviews

4.8 / 5.0
71 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
59
12
0
0
0
Would you recommend?
Yes (69)
Pros
Easy To Use (61)
Powerful (57)
Cons
Heavy (17)
Best Uses
Home Repair (19)
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Powerful
best small planer out there
This is a fantastic planer. Assuming you wipe off the blades and clean the table after every 300-500 bd/ft of material (regular basic maintenance) this machine will deliver. For some materials, small marks appear, that one would think is the result of a chipped blade. A quick wipe with some lacquer thinner over the blade edge fixes it every time. I've used the same blades for over a year now, with over 1000 bd/ft, and they still cut perfectly. Also note, this machine its not a 220v monster, it's a portable planer. Never take more than a 1/2 turn worth of material off per pass. If you are planing narrow materials (less than 3" wide) you can get up to a full turn of material per pass. Keep these points in mind and this machine will treat you very, very well.
October 28, 2011
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Powerful
great tool at a greatn price
very accurate cuts and a smooth finish with minimal snipe
March 18, 2010
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Powerful
Sweet planer
Just received this last week, great service from CPO. I have only run a few boards thru so far but the results were perfect. I ran some red oak boards of various lengths and width with no problem. They came out like glass, will need very little sanding. It was a bonus also to receive the extra blades and feed tables at the same cost of just the planer in stores. Would highly recommend.
October 13, 2011
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Powerful
Cons
Heavy
I would buy this product again and again
Easy to adjust height. Minimal snipe particulary with extensions. Good dust collection
April 6, 2011
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Powerful
Very happy so far
I bought this surface planer to get back into furniture making from many years off. There are clearly two levels of machines- more portable and affordable and the higher-end larger units (and much more costly). I checked with a contractor I use, and he has this tool and highly recommended it. I use it in my workshop, but he also takes it out to job sites (recommends the cart for this use). I started using this on a project using maple. On the slow feed setting, there was absolutely no problem and the cuts look like they'll need very little sanding. The instruction manual does not lie when it says not to hook it up to a shop vac. I connected it to my dust collector and the bag was a third full after just taking two 6 foot 4/4 boards down to 3/4. The tool comes with an easy adaptor to connect to a standard 4" hose (no dust when connected to my dust collector).

Wear your hearing protection as this baby is loud. I'm a little bummed I couldn't afford a version that could handle 20 or 25", but now you're into the thousands of dollars.

I got a great deal through CPO, which included the in/outfeed tables, spare set of blades and a router. The whole package was cheaper than just the planer at one of the big box stores.
So far, I am very happy and strongly recommend it.
March 31, 2011
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Powerful
It is all I expected
I ordered this unit on a Sunday night and to my surprise it was delivered on Wednesday. I took it out of the box, read the instructions (briefly), plugged it in and started planing oak. It produces the best finished product I have encountered, especially for the money invested. Since I have planed 500 board feet of cherry from mill cut to 1/2". The preset stops and depth of cut are great features.
October 10, 2011
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Powerful
So far so good
So far so good, I've ran a few pieces through the machine, not much snipe, dust does collect on the rollers and needs to be cleaned/brushed off frequently to prevent marking the wood. Many comments of other models with short blade life, I haven't run enough boards yet to see how these blade hold up. Pieces come out very smooth, can't complain, happy so far, I would recommend this at this point in time
August 1, 2012
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Great price on a great planer
The price on this planer (including in/out feed tables, spare knives and free shipping) was way better than anywhere else.
This planer is a joy to use. I had a Delta 12 1/2 planer before this, it worked satisfactorily, but the DW735 is a significant improvement. The biggest difference is the nice smooth finish. My old planer would sometimes chip out when used on hardwoods, and particularly on birdseye maple. But this DW735 is smooth on Maple, Purpleheart, Jatoba, Oak and Cherry to date.
There is still some snipe.
The chip exhaust fan is very powerful, if my vacuum filter gets clogged it forces air and dust out through the vacuum seals!
October 3, 2012
Pros
Easy To Use
great table
great solid stand,...instructions suck. so you will find your self putting it together by looking at the one picture. once you get going you will figure it out.
December 3, 2013
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Powerful
Your best choice if you can afford it
Sturdy, precise, and powerful. Definitely go with the in-feed & out-feed table option. Extra set of knives a nice touch, since I hear they wear quickly. Chip blower system is amazing - my dust collection system can't keep up. LOUD! Turn it on once without hearing protection and you'll never do it again.
December 20, 2011

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 6 questions Browse 6 questions and 7 answers
how loud is it? decible level?
Nelson on Oct 29, 2014
BEST ANSWER: You can lower the noise level by purchasing the Byrd cutter head that fits this model.
Can you get a full 13 inches thru it?
Tom on Apr 20, 2016
BEST ANSWER: Yes, the max planing width is 13in
I recently purchased dw735 that did not have support tables. I would like to buy a set. Are they available? If so, what is price.
First time woodworker on Mar 31, 2016
BEST ANSWER: Please contact the manufacturer direct at 1-800-433-9258 for assistance with parts.
Will this machine plane 2" wood 1/4" thick down to 1/8" thick
thrillbengone on Dec 16, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Yes, this planer can do this.
The title for the product states "support tables and extra knives." The list for what is included only lists output table. Are both the output and input tables included?
yipper on Nov 21, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Yes
Give me the height . length and width of the DW735X thickness planer Does it weigh 90 pounds. and take 110V current to run
John on Aug 19, 2013
BEST ANSWER: The deminisons are 24" x 22" x 18" It weights 100.1 pounds. Yes, it runs on 110V A/C current.

Warranty

Most DEWALT® Tools purchased on or after January 1, 2004 come with a warranty package that includes:

Three-Year Limited Warranty. DEWALT will repair, without charge, any defects due to faulty materials or workmanship for three years from the date of purchase. This warranty does not cover part failure due to normal wear or tool abuse. For further detail of warranty coverage and warranty repair information, visit www.dewalt.com or call 1-800-4-DEWALT (1-800-433-9258). This warranty does not apply to accessories or damage caused where repairs have been made or attempted by others. This warranty gives you specific legal rights and you may have other rights which vary in certain states or provinces.

One-Year Free Service Contract. DEWALT will maintain the tool and replace worn parts caused by normal use, for free, any time during the first year after purchase.

90-Day Money Back Guarantee. If you are not completely satisfied with the performance of your DEWALT Power Tool, Laser, or Nailer for any reason, you can return it within 90 days from the date of purchase with a receipt for a full refund - no questions asked.